Mu Phi Epsilon
The Dayton Alumni Chapter was organized at the instigation of Dorothy Ann Niebes and Jean Putnam and installed on March 2, 1958. There were seventeen charter members and Wilma Meckstroth served as the first President. At the time of this writing (Summer 2008) these three charter members are still affiliated with the Chapter, along with other charter members Marilyn Baumgartner and Barbara Wasson. The Dayton Alumni Chapter celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2008.

The Dayton Chapter established two scholarships in memory of former member Ellen Jane Lorenz Porter, an accomplished musician, composer, author, and editor. The Ellen Jane Lorenz Porter Grant for Graduate Work in Composition is administered by the Mu Phi Epsilon Foundation and awards $1,000 annually to a graduate student working on an advanced degree in composition. The Mu Phi Epsilon Scholarship in Memory of Ellen Jane Lorenz Porter is administered by the Dayton Foundation and awards $1,000 annually to a music major enrolled at one of the colleges/universities in the greater Dayton area.

The Dayton Chapter provided assistance to help establish a website for former member Zenobia Powell Perry, a noted composer, college educator, and volunteer on behalf of the African American community. Her website is Zenobia Perry received the Mu Phi Epsilon Elizabeth Mathias Award at the 2003 Centennial Convention in Cincinnati, where her compositions were performed at a special lecture/recital and in celebration of her 95th birthday.

The Dayton Chapter was also proud to nominate member Dorothy Ann Niebes for the Mu Phi Epsilon Orah Ashley Lamke Distinguished Alumni Award, which she received at the 2003 Centennial Convention in Cincinnati. The award is given annually on the basis of long, loyal and dedicated service to the Fraternity. Dorothy Ann served for many years as District Director of East Central 1 District.

The Dayton Alumni Chapter assisted in the installation of Gamma Eta Chapter of Mu Phi Epsilon at Central State University in Wilberforce, OH, in 1972, and again in 2000 when the Chapter was reinstalled.

In September of 2004 the Dayton Chapter presented the winner of the Mu Phi Epsilon International Competition, Marek Szpakiewicz, cellist, in a concert and master class.

The President of the Dayton Alumni Chapter for 2008-2010 is Marilyn (Smith) Sandness, Professor Emerita at the University of Dayton, where she founded and developed a music therapy degree program for 24 years. Marilyn was the recipient of a Mu Phi Epsilon Music Therapy Scholarship in 1958. Marilyn has served as a Director on the Mu Phi Epsilon Foundation Board and served three previous terms as Chapter President. She has received Honorary Life Member Awards from the American Music Therapy Association (1998) and its Great Lakes Region Chapter (1994) for outstanding professional contributions to the field of music therapy.

The Dayton Alumni Chapter has approximately six meetings a year, including a May luncheon at the NCR Country Club, where members from the Cincinnati Alumni Chapter and Gamma Eta Chapter join us. Our members generally come from the greater Dayton area, but unaffiliates are encouraged to join us from other locations in the central Ohio area. For further information about the Dayton Alumni Chapter, please contact the President, Marilyn Sandness, at (937) 434-2636 or e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..